Outer Banks Travel Guide

Edit This The best resource for sights, hotels, restaurants, bars, what to do and see
View of Kitty Hawk area from Kill Devil Hill

View of Kitty Hawk area from Kill Devil Hill

Joseph Hollick

North Carolina's outer banks is a sandbank on the eastern seaboard. Home to the Wright Brothers national monument, and birthplace of the first English child in the new colonies. Attractions include several lighthouses, Roanoake Island, and all the regular beach activities. The Outer Banks is comprised mainly of Dare County, which includes Kitty Hawk and Nags Head, and the northern Currituck County, which includes Corolla, Coinjock, and Knotts Island.

Any visit to the Outer Banks would not be complete unless you experienced where it all began--Roanoke Island.  On Roanoke Island, English colonization of America began and ended in an unsolved mystery.  The story of the lost colonists of Roanoke Island has been told in the theatrical production called The Lost Colony.   In this theatre, performed nightly under the stars, you are drawn into the spectacle and drama of this timeless mystery.  This production has enchanted visitors since 1937.  Over 4 million people have seen this production. 

The Wright Brothers Monument is located on Kill Devil Hill and it was from this hill that the Wright Brothers did hundreds of glider flights prior to the first powered flight. The first powered flights were done on the level area north of Kill Devil Hill (towards Kitty Hawk). The length of the first flights are marked out along the grass.


December 05, 2006 change by waterfalls (2 points)

July 03, 2007 change by klively

Where World66 helps you find the best deals on Outer Banks Hotels

Destinations in Outer Banks