History in Quezon Province

Edit This

Quezon Province is located in the Calabarzon region in Luzon of Phillipines. Quezon province is different from Quezon City, which is in Metro Manilla. Quezon is named after the second president of Philippines, Mr. Manuel L Quezon. Quezon is famous for Mt. Banahaw and every year lots of Christians visit this mountain during the Holy Week. Quezon Province History is not very old and is not well documented.

Early Era

This area was unknown to the outside world until Juan de Salcedo, during his voyage from Laguna to Camarines, found this island in 1571. At that time, the capital town of the region was Kalilayan which presently is known as Unisan. In around 18th century, the Capital was shifted from Kalilayan to Tayabas. From 17th century onwards the region was under Spanish rule. Moros or the local sea pirates were a constant threat to the Spanish colonial rulers. They opposed Christianity. During a massive attack in 1604 Kalilayan was almost destroyed by the Moros. The inhabitants had to be shifted from Kalilayan to Palsabangon.

Philippine Revolution and Modern Era

Taybas or the modern day Quezon was the center of Philippine revolution. The local people were gradually becoming more and more discontent under Spanish rule and finally revolted in 1841 under the leadership of Lucbano. This event is known as Confradia Revolt in history. Although Spanish government succeeded to pacify the revolt, it had a long lasting impact on the coming generations. In 1890 Philippine Revolution started under the leadership of Aguinaldo. General Malvar from this region was the first to join the revolution. The revolutionary army was defeated and sent to exile in Hong Kong in 1897. However, in 1898 the American-Spanish war broke out and Aguinaldo and General Malvar helped Americans. General Malvar soon liberated the present day Quezon from the Spanish in 1898 but the success was short lived as Americans soon became the new enemy of the Philippines. By 1901 the Philippines was under American rule. The region came under Japanese rule for a brief period during World War II between 1941 and 1945. The Taybas region was liberated from the Japanese by a joint force of Philippines and Americans in 1945. In 1946 Taybas was renamed as Quezon in honor of the second Commonwealth president of Philippines. In 1951 the province was merged with Aurora, but later Quezon was again separated in 1979 as an independent province.

Present day Quezon economy is dependent on coconut products like copra and coconut oil. Lucena city is the provincial capital of Quezon.

April 08, 2010 change by ctanios
April 07, 2010 new by ashmita

More Quezon Province History Guides

Where World66 helps you find the best deals on Quezon Province Hotels

Destinations in Quezon Province